You are here

Wagner on the Air

Posted August 4, 2016

August 4 and replay on demand:  Verbier Festival - Ivan Fischer and Nina Stemme in an all Wagner conert!/verbier-festiva-ivan-fischer-nina-stemme

Munich Die Meistersinger Videocast 7/31/2016 Cancelled

Posted July 31, 2016

The Munich "Opera for All" videocast of Die Meistersinger scheduled for today was cancelled to mourn the victims of the Munich School shooting.

Perhaps the videocast of Parsifal on Opening Night was not broardcast as scheduled on July 25, 2016 could be due to a series of terror attacks in Germany the week before.

On Wagner's Green Hill

Posted 30, 2016

Eric Laufenberg Explains the Meaning of His Parsifal

WSNC - Florence Foster Jennings Link?

Not exactly Wagnerian but from a friend of the WSNC

Documentary film maker, Donald Collup, has given two talks for the Wagner Society. One featured his film on the career Astrid Varnay and the other was a feature presentation of Three Bayreuth Divas. Collup created another film entitled Florence Foster Jenkins, A World of Her Own.

2016 Bayreuth Parsifal Radiocast on Demand

Posted July 27, 2016

The radiocast of the 2016 Bayreuth Festival Opening performance of Parsifal is available on demand by clicking the following link:

2016 Bayreuth Parsifal Reviews

Posted July 27, 2016

Reviews from DW (forwarded by Eiko Kikiwada), New York Times, and The Telegraph:

Tickets for Bayreuth Ring Cycle II are still available for purchase

Posted July 25, 2016

There is still time to catch the Ring in Bayreuth on the following dates:

Rheingold II Sunday, 7 August 2016

Walküre II Monday, 8 August 2016

Siegfried II Wednesday, 10 August 2016

Götterdämmerung II Friday, 12 August 2016



Nina Stemme - All Wagner Program Live Videocast

Posted July 24, 2016

At the Verbier Festival on August 4, 2016, 10:00 AM, EST, Ivan Fischer conducts an all Wagner program with Nina Stemme:  Overture of Die MeistersingerGood Friday Music from Parsifal, Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan und Isold and excerpts from the Twilight of the GodsThe live videocast will also be rebroadcast on demand.

No Butts about it! New Bayreuth Security Rules are the pits!

Due to increased security guidelines adopted by the Bayreuth Festival, certain items are no longer allowed in the Festival Theater!

read on . . . . from the Society of Friends of Bayreuth newsletter:

We should like to draw your attention once again to the extended security concept that we informed you about in detail by post. (updated link below)

Videocast Live from Bayreuth Festival Opening night - Parsifal

Posted July 22, 2016

New production of Parsifal with Klaus Florian Vogt in the title role will be streaming live on Monday, July 25, 2016 - FREE:

6:00 AM PST or 10:00 AM EST - News around the Green Hill and background.

7:00 AM PST or 11:00 AM EST - Performance