You are here

Nina Stemme - All Wagner Program Live Videocast

Posted July 24, 2016

At the Verbier Festival on August 4, 2016, 10:00 AM, EST, Ivan Fischer conducts an all Wagner program with Nina Stemme:  Overture of Die MeistersingerGood Friday Music from Parsifal, Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan und Isold and excerpts from the Twilight of the GodsThe live videocast will also be rebroadcast on demand.

No Butts about it! New Bayreuth Security Rules are the pits!

Due to increased security guidelines adopted by the Bayreuth Festival, certain items are no longer allowed in the Festival Theater!

read on . . . . from the Society of Friends of Bayreuth newsletter:

We should like to draw your attention once again to the extended security concept that we informed you about in detail by post. (updated link below)

Videocast Live from Bayreuth Festival Opening night - Parsifal

Posted July 22, 2016

New production of Parsifal with Klaus Florian Vogt in the title role will be streaming live on Monday, July 25, 2016 - FREE:

6:00 AM PST or 10:00 AM EST - News around the Green Hill and background.

7:00 AM PST or 11:00 AM EST - Performance

Wagner and Strauss in Spring 2017

Posted July 19, 2016

January  18 - February 18:  Jonas Kaufmann sings Lohengrin in Paris

March 17 - April 5:  Wagner and R. Strauss in Lyon

April 1 - 18:  The Ring in Berlin

Official Bayreuth 2016 Broadcast and Rebroadcast Schedule

Posted July 18, 2016

Live broadcast begins with Parsifal on July 25, 2016.  Listed are time, date, cast, and stream links.


Thelma Dry - 1926 - 2016

Thank you Mitch Mitchell for this lovely photo of Thelma Dry captured at the Seattle Ring. 

Schläfst du, Wagnerian?

Wagnerians HELP! Our good friend Stanford Professor Dr. Adrian Daub is writing a piece for the German newspaper Die Zeit about about falling asleep at Bayreuth. He is collecting fun stories about people dozing off either at Bayreuth OR at any Wagner opera elsewhere.

Memorial Service - Thelma Dry

Long time member Thelma Dry died on January 25, 2016. Thelma was a very active member of the Society since 1990 and also served on the Board of Directors for may years.

On August 2nd 2016, Thelma's ashes will be scattered at sea.  Guests are asked to assemble at Santa Cruz Harbor Dock F at the Stagnaro Whale Watching Boat. The boat will depart at approximately 8:45 a.m. for the 1 1/2 hour round trip to the cement boat off Aptos Beach. This was a favorite spot for Thelma and her late husband John, whose ashes are also scattered there.

Arias - To Cut or Not To Cut

Posted 11, 2016

Could You Shorten That Aria? Opera Weighs Cuts in the Classics